State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

MADISON TEACHER/LIBRARIAN Joanne Kallhoff (right) and assistant Leigh Ann Gehrels pose for a photo after Madison public school libraries were awarded the state-level 21st Century School Library Award.

Madison Public School libraries (high school, middle school and elementary), led by teacher-librarian Joanne Kallhoff with assistant Leigh Ann Gehrels and supported by administrators Adam Shaw, Cotton Koch and Janel Guse, was awarded the state-level 21st Century School Library Award.

Each year, the S.D. State Library, a division of the S.D. Department of Education, recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: The Place (both physical and online learning environments), The Program, and The Professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide artifacts and evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

Exemplary Award recipients are:

Douglas Middle School Library, Box Elder

Harrisburg Middle School Library, Harrisburg

Horizon Elementary School Library, Harrisburg

Madison Central School Libraries, Madison

Robert Frost Elementary School Library, Sioux Falls

West Central Middle/High School Library, West Central

West Middle School Library, Rapid City

Enhanced Award recipient is:

Elk Point-Jefferson School Libraries, Elk Point

Effective Award recipients are:

Piedmont Valley Elementary School Library, Sturgis Elementary School Library, and Whitewood Elementary School Library, Meade 46-1

Rapid Valley Elementary School Library, Rapid City


Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Madison Daily Leader today. Call 256-4555 to subscribe to our e-edition or home delivery.