We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Please let us know what's going on!

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) -- Malaysia's Top Glove Corp., the world's largest maker of rubber gloves, said Tuesday it expects a two- to four-week delay in deliveries after more than 2,000 workers at its factories were infected by the coronavirus, raising the possibility of supply disruption…

Monday, November 23, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- The National Retail Federation, the nation's largest retail trade group, expects that holiday sales could actually exceed growth seen in prior seasons, despite all the uncertainty surrounding the pandemic.

Friday, November 20, 2020

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) -- A federal appeals court on Thursday upheld a 2018 jury verdict that led to awarding monetary damages to neighbors of a North Carolina industrial hog operation for smells and noise they said made living nearby unbearable.

Thursday, November 19, 2020

DETROIT (AP) -- General Motors says a pending breakthrough in battery chemistry will cut the price of its electric vehicles so they equal those powered by gasoline within five years. The technology also will increase the range per charge to as much as 450 miles.

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

LONDON (AP) -- British airline easyJet has posted its first full-year loss in its 25-year history as a result of the coronavirus pandemic but laid out hope that the rollout of vaccines will help it bounce back strongly next year.

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) -- Warren Buffett's company has trimmed its huge stake in Apple and added new investments in several drugmakers while tweaking several other holdings in its stock portfolio.

Monday, November 16, 2020

TOKYO (AP) -- U.S. retailer Walmart is selling off 85% of its wholly owned Japanese supermarket subsidiary Seiyu, while retaining a 15% stake, in a deal valued at $1.6 billion, the companies said Monday.

Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020

BEIJING (AP) -- China's sales of vehicles including trucks and buses rose 12.5% over a year earlier in October as the industry recovered from the coronavirus, but total purchases in the year's first 10 months still were below pre-virus levels, an industry group reported Wednesday.

Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) -- The re-election defeat of U.S. House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson in Minnesota and some key retirements mean a shakeup is coming for the industry on Capitol Hill, with power likely to shift from the Midwest to the South and the coasts.

Monday, November 09, 2020

SEATTLE (AP) -- A divided Washington Supreme Court ruled Thursday the state's dairy workers are entitled to overtime pay if they work more than 40 hours a week, a decision expected to apply to the rest of the agriculture industry.

Friday, November 06, 2020

LONDON (AP) -- AstraZeneca hopes to show its COVID-19 vaccine is effective by the end of this year and is ramping up manufacturing so it can supply hundreds of millions of doses starting in January, Chief Executive Pascal Soriot said Thursday.

Thursday, November 05, 2020

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) -- German automaker BMW said third-quarter net profit rose 17% to 1.81 billion euros ($2.22 billion) as sales boomed in China and highly profitable luxury models such as the 8 Series coupe and X7 large sport-utility vehicle helped fatten the bottom line.

Wednesday, November 04, 2020
Tuesday, November 03, 2020
Monday, November 02, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020

REDMOND, Wash. (AP) -- Microsoft reported quarterly earnings Tuesday that beat Wall Street expectations, as it continued to weather the coronavirus pandemic amid increased demand for its flagship software and services.

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

SAN JOSE, Calif. (AP) -- Advanced Micro Devices is buying Xilinx for $35 billion in an all-stock deal that will combine the two Silicon Valley chip makers and accelerate an already rapid-fire pace of mergers and buyouts in the industry.

Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) -- Sunflower farmers in the U.S. are expected to produce their biggest crop in five years, and North Dakota farmers are expecting their best yield in history.

Thursday, October 22, 2020

STOCKHOLM (AP) -- Swedish telecom equipment maker Ericsson has reported upbeat third quarter earnings, helped mainly by the rollout of 5G wireless networks in China and a strong U.S. market.

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- The coronavirus pandemic has put millions of Americans out of work. But many of those still working are fearful, distressed and stretched thin.

Friday, October 16, 2020

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (AP) -- First there was taco night, then barbecue sandwiches, followed by meats by the pound -- all splashy marketing events to generate buzz leading up to Proof BBQ's grand opening in the Cleveland suburbs. And then came coronavirus.

Thursday, October 15, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) -- JPMorgan Chase said Thursday it will extend billions in loans to Black and Latino homebuyers and small business owners in an expanded effort toward fixing what the bank calls "systemic racism" in the country's economic system.

Friday, October 09, 2020

LONDON (AP) -- The London Stock Exchange Group has agreed to sell its holding in the parent company of the Italian stock exchange to rival Euronext for at least 4.33 billion euros ($5.11 billion).

Thursday, October 08, 2020

LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Los Angeles Times Executive Editor Norman Pearlstine plans to resign after two years heading a newspaper battered by layoffs, mismanagement and questions about its commitment to newsroom diversity.

Wednesday, October 07, 2020

HURON -- Advancements in agriculture research and technology are essential to tomorrow's farmers and ranchers. To support the future of South Dakota's family farmers and ranchers, Traveler's Motor Club together with South Dakota Farmers Union (SDFU) Foundation provides a $2,500 scholarship a…

Tuesday, October 06, 2020

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The CEOs of technology giants Facebook, Google and Twitter are expected to testify for an Oct. 28 Senate hearing on tech companies' control over hate speech and misinformation on their platforms.

Monday, October 05, 2020
Friday, October 02, 2020

LONDON (AP) -- Retail giant Walmart has agreed to sell its British chain of supermarkets, Asda, to the investors behind an international group of gas stations and food shops in a deal that values the company at 6.8 billion pounds ($8.8 billion).

Thursday, October 01, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

MITO, Japan (AP) -- Japanese telecoms giant Nippon Telegraph & Telephone, or NTT, announced Tuesday it will spend 4.3 trillion yen ($38 billion) to buy out and take private its mobile unit NTT DoCoMo in one of the largest ever deals of its kind.

Friday, September 25, 2020

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) -- Volkswagen is unveiling a battery-powered sport-utility vehicle that is headed for global markets including the United States and China, as the company takes a major step forward in its campaign to make electric cars a mass-market choice.

Thursday, September 24, 2020

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) -- Iowa regulators have issued their first citation to a meatpacking plant with a large coronavirus outbreak that sickened its workforce -- a $957 fine for a minor record-keeping violation.

Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) -- Shares in electric and hydrogen-powered truck startup Nikola plunged on Monday after the company's founder resigned amid allegations of fraud -- just two weeks after signing a $2 billion partnership with General Motors.

Friday, September 18, 2020

WALTHAM, Mass. (AP) -- Raytheon Technologies Corp. plans to eliminate more than 15,000 jobs this year at its corporate offices, jet engine-maker Pratt & Whitney and aviation and military equipment manufacturer Collins Aerospace amid the downturn in the airline industry, Chief Executive O…

BROOKINGS -- SDSU Extension has opened the Every Acre Counts program to include all counties in South Dakota with a primary emphasis on the eastern side of the state.

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- A number of JPMorgan Chase traders have been sent home after employees tested positive for COVID-19, less than a week into the bank's push to start bringing its workers physically back into the office.

Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020

Oracle said Monday that the Chinese owner of TikTok has picked the U.S. company to be its "trusted technology provider," beating out rival Microsoft in a deal that could help keep the popular video-sharing app running in the U.S.

Friday, September 11, 2020

SIOUX FALLS (AP) -- Federal regulators said Thursday they have cited Smithfield Foods for failing to protect employees from exposure to the coronavirus at the company's Sioux Falls plant, an early hot spot for virus infections that hobbled American meatpacking plants.

Thursday, September 10, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- Century 21 Stores -- a destination for bargain hunters looking for fat deals on designer dresses and shoes, cosmetics and housewares for nearly 60 years -- has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy and is winding down its business, shutting all 13 stores across New York, New Jerse…