We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Please let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, June 03, 2020

The outbreak of the coronavirus has dealt a shock to the global economy with unprecedented speed. Following are developments Wednesday related to the national and global response, the work place and the spread of the virus.

Monday, June 01, 2020

PARIS (AP) -- French carmaker Renault said Friday it will cut 15,000 jobs worldwide as part of a 2 billion-euro ($2.2 billion) cost-cutting plan, as a brutal drop in industry sales during the pandemic worsened the company's pre-existing problems.

Friday, May 29, 2020

BEIJING (AP) -- Volkswagen is spending 2 billion euros ($2.2 billion) to expand its presence in China's electric car industry in the biggest foreign investment announced since the country's economy began to reopen following the coronavirus pandemic.

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- Meatpacking plants that had to briefly close due to coronavirus outbreaks have been back up and running for weeks, but production backlogs are forcing farmers to euthanize thousands of hogs that can't be processed, drawing complaints from animal welfare advocates.

Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- The trading floor of the New York Stock Exchange reopened for the first time in two months with New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo ringing the iconic bell, but the controlled chaos was more subdued Tuesday under new pandemic rules.

Friday, May 22, 2020

BELLE PLAINE, Kan. (AP) -- Farmers across the nation leaned more heavily upon the federal government last year to finance their agricultural operations amid low commodity prices and trade disputes, and more of the money they borrowed is now delinquent.

Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

MIAMI (AP) -- AT&T said Tuesday it will immediately ditch Venezuela's pay TV market as U.S. sanctions prohibit its DirecTV platform from broadcasting channels that it is required to carry by the socialist administration of Nicolas Maduro.

Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020

TOKYO (AP) -- Japanese automaker Honda Motor Co. sank deeper into losses for the fiscal quarter that ended in March, as the damage to the industry from the coronavirus outbreak hurt sales and crimped production.

Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020

When the coronavirus erupted in the United States, it triggered quarantines, travel curbs and business shutdowns. Many economists predicted a V-shaped journey for the economy: A sharp drop, then a quick bounce-back as the virus faded and the economy regained health.

Friday, May 08, 2020
Thursday, May 07, 2020
Wednesday, May 06, 2020

MILAN (AP) -- Fiat Chrysler Automobiles on Tuesday reported a first-quarter net loss of 1.7 billion euros ($1.84 billion) due to a steep decline in car sales triggered by the coronavirus pandemic, and said the impact on the second-quarter would be even more severe.

Tuesday, May 05, 2020
Monday, May 04, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- Struggling fashion brand J.Crew has filed for bankruptcy protection, the first major retailer to do so since the coronavirus pandemic forced most stores across the United States to close their doors.

Thursday, April 30, 2020

O'FALLON, Mo. (AP) -- The world's largest pork producer told a judge in Missouri on Thursday that it was working as quickly as it can to comply with federal guidelines that seek to slow the spread of the coronavirus but that it needs some flexibility in an industry where people typically wor…

SIOUX FALLS (AP) -- Great Western Bancorp Inc. (GWB) on Thursday reported a fiscal second-quarter loss of $740.6 million, after reporting a profit in the same period a year earlier.

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) -- Producers are having to euthanize pigs and chickens because of decreased demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, but Minnesota's food supply remains stable, Minnesota's top agriculture official said Monday.

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) -- Sports apparel and shoe company Adidas saw its earnings fall sharply in the first quarter as the virus outbreak closed 70% of its global store base. Net profit from continuing operations fell 97% to only 20 million euros from 631 million euros in the same period a …

Monday, April 27, 2020

TOKYO (AP) -- Japanese automaker Mitsubishi Motors Corp. said Friday it expects 26 billion yen ($240 million) in losses for the fiscal year through next March, as sales plunge because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- Big public companies that received loans under a government program intended to help small businesses devastated by the coronavirus outbreak could be forced to return it.

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Chipotle Mexican Grill Inc. agreed Tuesday to pay a record $25 million fine to resolve criminal charges that it served tainted food that sickened more than 1,100 people in the U.S. in outbreaks from 2015 to 2018 and sent sales plunging.

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- After enduring extended trade disputes and worker shortages, U.S. hog farmers were poised to finally hit it big this year with expectations of climbing prices amid soaring domestic and foreign demand.

Monday, April 20, 2020

WICHITA, Kan. (AP) -- A major aircraft parts supplier in Kansas is expected to bring about 2,100 furloughed workers back to work next week as Boeing prepares to resume production of its commercial airplanes.

Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- Desperate small business owners who hoped for a quick government lifeline to help them survive the coronavirus crisis are still without funds, instead battling red tape, wary banks and swamped computer systems.

Monday, April 13, 2020

Champaign, Ill. (AP) -- The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently announced that soybean farmers in 25 states are now able to spray a pesticide that the agency has determined is likely to cause cancer and drift hundreds of feet from where it is applied.

Friday, April 10, 2020

The outbreak of the coronavirus has dealt a shock to the global economy with unprecedented speed. Following are developments Friday related to the global economy, the work place and the spread of the virus.

Thursday, April 09, 2020

NEW YORK (AP) -- Speed is of the essence if a federal relief program for small businesses is going to be effective in combating the damage wrought by the coronavirus lockdowns.

Wednesday, April 08, 2020

The outbreak of the coronavirus has dealt a shock to the global economy with unprecedented speed. Following are developments Wednesday related to the global economy, the work place and the spread of the virus.

Tuesday, April 07, 2020

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The Trump administration will seek an additional $250 billion to support a program designed to help small businesses keep workers employed through the coronavirus outbreak, Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said.

Monday, April 06, 2020

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The Federal Reserve will provide support to the government's new small business lending program in its latest attempt to smooth the flow of credit in the virus-stricken U.S. economy.

Friday, April 03, 2020

The outbreak of the coronavirus has dealt a shock to the global economy with unprecedented speed. Following are developments on Friday related to the global economy, the work place and the spread of the virus.

Thursday, April 02, 2020

BEIJING (AP) -- Toyota Motor Co. and Chinese electric automaker BYD Co. announced a partnership Thursday to develop battery-powered vehicles, adding to a flurry of industry tie-ups to share soaring development costs.

Wednesday, April 01, 2020

HURON -- Aberdeen crop and cattle farmer Jeff Kippley was recognized by National Farmers Union during the 2020 National Convention with the Bruce Miller Award for his active involvement in state and national Farmers Union events as well as his community.

Monday, March 23, 2020

HURON -- Representing more than 18,000 family farmers and ranchers throughout South Dakota in his role as S.D. Farmers Union president, Doug Sombke was re-elected to serve as treasurer of the national organization's executive board during the 118th NFU convention.

Friday, February 28, 2020

PHILADELPHIA (AP) -- The owner of an award-winning organic dairy in Pennsylvania that abruptly closed its doors last fall pleaded guilty Thursday to running a Ponzi scheme that bilked investors of nearly $60 million.

Friday, February 21, 2020