August 17, 2019

Daily Leader Extra : Editorials

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Editorials

Corp of Engineers will keep dams flowing

We don't feel the impact in Madison, but many cities in South Dakota depend heavily on decisions made by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers for its management of the Missouri River.
Tuesday 08/06/2019
Road work means better welcoming

Dakota State University students will start rolling into Madison in the next few weeks, and the reconstruction of Washington Avenue is not the best first impression of our community.

more »
Monday 08/05/2019
We'll need to boost mental health pros

Health officials say years of alcohol abuse on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation near Whiteclay, Neb. requires more doctors, psychologists and counselors to deal with the aftereffects.

more »
Wednesday 07/31/2019
CyberLabs will be a great asset for DSU

The Madison CyberLabs, commonly known as MadLabs, will be an extraordinary asset for Dakota State University when it opens this year.

more »
Tuesday 07/30/2019
Tower upgrades are an excellent first step

City of Madison commissioners authorized Monday a right-of-way request from Amert Construction to temporarily occupy parking spaces near the Lakeview Tower for 12 months. It's a minor step in a long path to upgrade the housing facility in central Madison.

more »
Monday 07/29/2019
Legislature should review embezzlement

The crime of embezzlement in South Dakota is lightly punished, in our opinion, and needs a review by the state legislature.

more »
Monday 07/22/2019
Satellite launches could boost productivity

Private companies and governments are launching satellites at a rapid pace, and we have modest enthusiasm for their potential.

more »
Wednesday 07/17/2019
Lake County lakes look good for fish quality

A recent study by researchers at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology found that the concentration of mercury in the sediments of seven South Dakota lakes notably increased during times of flooding and lake expansion.

more »
Monday 07/15/2019
Has the tide turned for opioid abuse?

Opioid-related deaths dropped in South Dakota the past two years, a good result, although it's clear more needs to be done.

more »